Top Menu

Humanities Programs

Durham County Library’s Humanities Program brings nationally recognized authors and world-class scholars to the library community through events that focus on music, art, local history, religion, literature and culture.

Patrons who attend humanities programs are invited to join Durham Library Foundation’s Humanities Society, which rewards frequent program attendees with a variety of invitation-only, special events. Past events have included a private exhibit tour at the Nasher Museum, an annual holiday reception at the century-old Hill House and a behind-the-scenes tour of the Durham Performing Arts Center.

Date/Time

Event

Saturday, August 23, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Meet the Author: Jessica Scott
Southwest Regional Library, Durham NC
Sunday, August 24, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Come Visit Arusha, Tanzania!
Main Library, Durham NC
Tuesday, August 26, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Concert with the Raging Grannies
Main Library, Durham NC
Thursday, August 28, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Yarn Bombing with Linette Knight
Main Library, Durham NC
Sunday, September 7, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Notes From the Campaign Trail
Main Library, Durham NC
Monday, September 8, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
In the Wings: PlayMakers on Vanya & Sonia & Masha & Spike
Main Library, Durham NC
Tuesday, September 9, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
An Evening with Alix Kates Shulman: Fiction or Memoir—How to Choose
Main Library, Durham NC
Monday, September 15, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Art With The Experts: Rauschenberg: Collecting and Connecting
Main Library, Durham NC
Sunday, September 21, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Meet the Author: Lyle Estill
Main Library, Durham NC
Tuesday, September 23, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Banjo Player: Sean McKinney
Main Library, Durham NC
1 2