Top Menu

Humanities Programs

Durham County Library’s Humanities Program brings nationally recognized authors and world-class scholars to the library community through events that focus on music, art, local history, religion, literature and culture.

Patrons who attend humanities programs are invited to join Durham Library Foundation’s Humanities Society, which rewards frequent program attendees with a variety of invitation-only, special events. Past events have included a private exhibit tour at the Nasher Museum, an annual holiday reception at the century-old Hill House and a behind-the-scenes tour of the Durham Performing Arts Center.

Date/Time Event
Tuesday, April 14, 2015
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
"Anything I was Big Enough to Do": Women and Gender in SNCC
Main Library, Durham NC
Thursday, April 16, 2015
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Consider the Conversation: A Documentary on a Taboo Subject
South Regional Library, Durham NC
Saturday, April 18, 2015
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Meet the Author: Kianna Alexander
Southwest Regional Library, Durham NC
Monday, April 20, 2015
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Art with the Experts: Colour Correction
Southwest Regional Library, Durham NC
Wednesday, April 22, 2015
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Sand Country Almanac Reading
The Regulator Bookshop, Durham NC
Thursday, April 23, 2015
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Consider the Conversation Workshop
South Regional Library, Durham NC
Saturday, April 25, 2015
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Meet the Author: Scott Ellsworth
Hayti Heritage Center, Durham NC
Thursday, April 30, 2015
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Meet the Authors: Levelle Moton and Edward G. Robinson
Main Library, Durham NC
Saturday, May 2, 2015
10:00 am - 11:30 am
Hurt, Injured and Insulted: Ending Violence against Women and Children
Main Library, Durham NC
Sunday, May 3, 2015
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Meet the Author: Sarah Caroline Thuesen
Main Library, Durham NC
1 2 3 4