Top Menu

Humanities Programs

Durham County Library’s Humanities Program brings nationally recognized authors and world-class scholars to the library community through events that focus on music, art, local history, religion, literature and culture.

Patrons who attend humanities programs are invited to join Durham Library Foundation’s Humanities Society, which rewards frequent program attendees with a variety of invitation-only, special events. Past events have included a private exhibit tour at the Nasher Museum, an annual holiday reception at the century-old Hill House and a behind-the-scenes tour of the Durham Performing Arts Center.

Date/Time Event
Thursday, November 6, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
From Glazed to Gourmet: Donut Shops in NC
South Regional Library, Durham NC
Monday, November 10, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Art with the Experts: Mirό: The Experience of Seeing
Main Library, Durham NC
Thursday, November 13, 2014
7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
George Clinton, P-Funk and One Nation Under a Groove
Stanford L. Warren Branch Library, Durham NC
Sunday, November 16, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Transforming Our Response to Youth Crime: Kids for Cash Screening and Discussion
Main Library, Durham NC
Tuesday, November 18, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Meet the Author: Marcie Cohen Ferris
Southwest Regional Library, Durham NC
Saturday, November 22, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Little Russian Stories
Main Library, Durham NC
Tuesday, December 2, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Film Screening: American Promise
Main Library, Durham NC
Thursday, December 4, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Fine Press Books with Horse and Buggy Press
Main Library, Durham NC
Sunday, December 7, 2014
3:00 pm - 4:30 pm
Anita Woodley’s Boomerang
Main Library, Durham NC
Tuesday, December 9, 2014
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Duke Ellington: Man, Myth, Music and the Eternal Sacred
Stanford L. Warren Branch Library, Durham NC
1 2 3 4